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Web Marketing Ezine

August 21st., 2002������������������Issue #203�������������������� ISSN 1444-2027


1. Sponsor's Message
2. First Word
3. Tips, Tools, News and Views

- Test Drive ezWebcar

- Free Report: Managing Incoming Email

- Cluetrain Manifesto Thesis #11

- A Free News Ticker For Your Site

-�What Language Is That?

- Free Training Course of the Week: Personal Productivity �

-�E-Commerce Term of the Week: �Acquisition Cost

4. A Touch of Humor: Marketing Explained

5. Classified Ads
6. Free Training Courses
7. Feature Article:�
Seven Steps to Effective Marketing
8. Our Companion Ezine�
9. Administrivia

Visit our companion website at http://www.WebMarketingEzine.com

Want to read this online? For your convenience, the Current Issue�
of WME is posted each week at the WME website. Just visit�
http://www.WebMarketingEzine.com and click on Current Issue.

1. Sponsor's Message

1 million free visitors on your website!

These well-guarded secrets have just permitted
us to jump up to 100,000+ visitors per WEEK.
Click here: http://www.hypertracker.com/go/nekel/million4/

P.S.: I don't know if you understood, I meant hurry up
downloading the secrets while it's in there!

2. First Word

Hi All!

This week we feature a very clever, free program called ezWebcar. Please take a few minutes to read our item, and to have a look at it. I'm sure that EVERY reader of WME can come up with at one good use in their own business. Over to you!

Thought For the Week:�

"Today is unique! It has never occurred before and it will never be repeated. At midnight it will end, quietly, suddenly, totally. Forever. But the hours between now and then are opportunities with eternal possibilities."

- Charles Swindoll

Till next week, have a good one!


3. Tips, Tools, News and Views

Test Drive ezWebcar

What a great idea.�ezWebcar is a 'co-browser' program, that allows you to share information with others in a unique way. To follow the 'car' analogy, you become the 'driver', and other people become your 'passengers'. Wherever you 'drive' on the Internet, your 'passengers' see the same sites.�

Take friends on a virtual shopping trip, while they are in their homes. Show your company staff how your Intranet works, while they're at their desks. Do a sales presentation to a group of clients around the world. Have a meeting of your MLM downline, wherever they live. While you 'drive' the Webcar,� your passengers see a window containing commentary you've created� on each site. You and your passengers can also 'talk' to each other in another text window. The possibilities are enormous, and only limited by our imaginations.

An natural extension of the ezWebcar idea, is the ezWebTour. Simply, this is a 'canned' version of a Webcar session, that anyone can take later on. It's something like putting together a PowerPoint presentation, except that the sites you are visiting have up-to-date information.

This is powerful technology, and it's free. Test drive ezWebcar at http://www.ezwebcar.com/

Free Report: Managing Incoming Email

We are all receiving more and more emails. Spam is multiplying. Industry projections show that email traffic is going to increase further. In Trays are clogged, and we're spending an increasing part of the day just wading through it. It's time to take stock, and look at some strategies for handling the flood...

'Managing Incoming E-mail: What Every User Needs to Know' is a 35-page report written by Mark Hurst, of GoodExperience.com. The report describes a simple method that will allow any user to cope with increasing amounts of incoming e-mail.

To download your free copy of 'Managing Incoming Email', visit GoodExperience at http://www.goodexperience.com/reports/e-mail/

Cluetrain Manifesto Thesis #11

"People in networked markets have figured out that they get far better information and support from one another than from vendors. So much for corporate rhetoric about adding value to commoditized products."

Read the whole Cluetrain Manifesto at http://www.webmarketingezine.com/cluetrain.htm

WME Supported By...

Master the Big 3 of Product, Site-selling, and Traffic-building, and there's simply no way to fail.

Ninety-nine out of a hundred sites still don't get the order. Here's how to join the profitable 1%

Get your Free Trial Download today!

A Free News Ticker For Your Site

Here's a small news ticker to liven up your site. And, yes, it's free!

The ticker carries news headlines from some of the world's top media- Newsday, CNN, Fox, The Guardian, Nando Times, BBC World, Reuters, and more. The "price", is that a few ads are included in the rotation. The "bonus", is that you can add up to 4 headlines of your own- news, advertising- whatever you choose. If you're reading the plain text version of this email, you can see the ticker in action at


To read more, and pick up the cut-and-paste code, visit 7 am. at http://www.7am.com/ticker/addticker.html

What Language Is That?

A couple of issues ago, we gave you an excellent site to translate text from one language to another. Which is fine IF you know what the language IS. Now I'll admit that it's not a problem you'll strike every day, but I would have found it helpful a number of times.

The XRCE Content Analysis Language Identifier is there to help. Just type in 5 words or so, an the program will guess the language. So, if you come across that great looking website that is about something that interests you, but it's unintelligible, just copy -an-paste a sentence into the Language Identifier, and you're in business. Then go to one of the translation sites, and away you go! Then, you just need the translation to make sense... Try out the Language Identifier at

WME Supported By...

Professional Web Design Secrets the Pros Don't Want You to Know...

"Finally, a Web design course that makes total and complete sense! Web Design Mastery will quickly become the "Bible" for anyone who wants to build a website. Totally top shelf!"- Rick Beneteau

Nothing is left to the imagination...Web Design Mastery takes you step by step through the entire process. Don't miss out on the special, introductory price, or the bonuses, click here!

Free Training Course of the Week: Personal Productivity�

Getting Things Done is a 4-week, 16-hour Online Instructor-led Course which offers a leading-edge methodology for getting things done with minimal time and effort, while maintaining control in work and life.

To take this, and many other free training courses, visit

E-Commerce Term of the Week:�Acquisition Cost

Advertising or promotional costs divided by the number of click-throughs. For example, if your company spends $30,000 to purchase 1 million impressions for on an online ad campaign, and the ad achieves a 0.5 percent click-through rate resulting in 5,000 visits to your Web site, your acquisition cost equals $6 per person.�

-Source: NetLingo- The Internet Dictionary http://www.netlingo.com
The NetLingo Dictionary book is 528-pages of over 2500 terms. Learn more...

WME Supported By...

How To Promote YOUR Local Business�

On The Internet

48 million adults in the U.S. went online looking for local businesses just like YOURS last year? Would YOU like to know how to turn these hungry consumers into YOUR customers? Then this is the ebook for YOU! Click here to discover the secrets of 'How To Promote Your Local Business On the Internet'.

4. A Touch of Humor

Marketing Explained

You go to a party and you see an attractive girl across the room. You go up to her and say, "Hi, I'm great in bed, how about it?"
That's Direct Marketing.

You go to a party and you see an attractive girl across the room. You give your friend a buck. She goes up and says "Hi, my friend over there is great in bed, how about it?"
That's Advertising.

You go to a party and see an attractive girl across the room. You somehow get her mobile number. You call and chat her up a while and then say "Hi, I am great in bed, how about it?"
That's Tele-Marketing.

You go to a party and see an attractive girl across the room. You recognize her. You walk up to her, refresh her memory and get her to laugh and giggle and then suggest, "Hi, I am great in bed, how about it?"
That's Customer Relationship Management.

You go to a party and you see an attractive girl across the room. You stand straight, you talk soft and smooth, you open the door for the ladies, you smile like a dream, you set an aura around you playing the Mr. Gentleman and then you move up to the girl and say, "Hi, I am great in bed, how about it?"
That's Hard Selling.

You go to a party, you see an attractive girl across the room. SHE COMES OVER and says, "Hi, I hear you're great in bed, how about it?"
Now THAT is the power of Branding.

WME Supported By...

The Ultimate Package of Resell Reprint Rights
for BIG MONEY PRODUCTS - at a truly
Unbelievable Price! Selling Quick, so Go
NOW: http://www.ezineadventure.com/ResaleRights.html

An EzineADventure AD. Click Below - Get Your FREE Ads NOW!

5. Classified Ads

Ezine Advertising WORKS! Showcase your ad. in "The Human Face of
Web Marketing", at just $20 for four insertions. Just go to

How Much Is One Good Sales Letter Worth To Your Business?

Make Your Site Sell- The Most Important Free Download You'll Make�

FREE five lesson class shows you how to improve the your results�

WOMEN! THIS LIST IS FOR YOU! THE BALANCED WOMAN! Send a blank�email to; [email protected]

Read about your business's future at:�

Improve Your Search Positions-Get your FREE WebPosition Software

Earn Advertising Income From Your Website Or Mailing List!�

Article Announce - The Free Writer & Publisher Connection�
Subscribe: mailto:[email protected]

Your own infoproduct? Take the FREE InfoProduct Masters course!
Just send a blank e-mail to [email protected]

Serious about writing that book? Look at this site!

Become a high-earning Affiliate-take The Affiliate Masters course
Send a blank e-mail to: [email protected]

6. Free Training Courses

Increase your knowledge; hone your skills; improve your results! Take advantage of some of the finest FREE training courses on the Web by visiting our Free Training Course listing at;

You'll find courses on IT, Computing, Software, Business and Personal Development.
With over 35 courses to choose from, you're sure to find something!

7. Feature Article

Seven Steps to Effective Marketing

Step 1: Become 'Marketing Minded'
When many people think of marketing they think of meeting customers needs. Understanding and responding to changing customer needs is essential, but there is another dimension. In meeting customer needs it is essential to do it in a way that is different from your competitors. If you can't find this point of difference you're in danger of becoming a price-based commodity.

Ask yourself:
Do my customers really see me as different from my closest competitors? How/Why?
What can I do to make my business more distinctive and appealing to help secure them as long-term and profitable customers?

Step 2: Monitor the Changing Environment
We live in a rapidly changing world of many threats and opportunities. Few business managers take adequate time out to stop, look around, and reflect on how these changes might have an impact. As a result, most companies die young.

Ask yourself, at least once a quarter:
What are the changing consumer trends, competitor activity, legislation, economic trends or technology developments that might have an impact on my business?

Step 3: Have a Meaningful Vision
A Vision (or Mission) has a number or roles: most important of which are to inspire and guide. Too many business Visions include words like 'leader', 'best', 'preeminent', 'most successful'. Words like this can mean many different things to different people. Because of that they are of limited help in inspiring or guiding the behaviour of the business team.

Ask yourself:
When there are major business decisions to be made, is my business Vision really of use?
How might I improve my business Vision, so it is both an inspiration and guide?

Step 4: Build Your Brand 'From the Inside Out'
Building a brand is not just about advertising or 'marketing communications'. Nor is it just about your 'product' or 'service'. Your brand is really what your customers think of you, and how much trust they have in you. To build a strong brand you have to have a clear idea of how you want to be thought of, and then consider everything that you say and do.

In everything that you say and do, ask yourself:
Will this get me closer to where I want to be in the mind of my customers?

Step 5: Plan for Success
There is a phrase: "If you don't know where you want to go, any road will get you there". This is true in life, and it is true in business. If you want to succeed you have to have clear, measurable objectives - you have to know where you want to get to!

Ask yourself:
Do I have a marketing plan with clear, measurable objectives? (And am I measuring the things that are really important!).

Step 6: Become a 'Learning Business'
Continuously improving your marketing effectiveness is essential to long-term success. The best way to achieve this is to ensure that you take a little time to become a 'Learning Business' by building learning into your processes.

For every marketing initiative you undertake, ask yourself:
How can I build learning into this, so that I can find out what works and what doesn't, and do it better next time?

Step 7: Be Prepared to Change
What worked in the past may not work in the future. If you can achieve steps 1 - 6 that's great, but you have to go one step further. You have to be prepared to change. Don't just do the same things better, look around for new ways of pursuing your vision and your desired brand. Explore, experiment and anticipate.

Ask yourself:
Is there an opportunity to break out, and achieve a step-change from where I am now?

Source: BuildingBrands www.buildingbrands.com

8. Our Companion Ezine: A Better Life:ItsYourFuture!


Enjoy Humor, Inspiration, Romance, Fitness, Nutrition & Personal
Finance- all aimed at helping YOU to take control of YOUR future!
Subscribe FREE by sending a blank email to:
mailto:[email protected]

��������������������������� BE HAPPY BE HEALTHY LIVE LONG & PROSPER

9. Administrivia


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This publication was designed to provide accurate and�authoritative information with regard to the subject matter. Subscribers are sent this free weekly e-zine with the�understanding that the publisher is not engaged in rendering legal, or other professional advice. If legal advice or other professional assistance is required, we advise seeking the� services of a competent professional.

John Payne does not accept any responsibility for any�liabilities resulting from any claims in articles or advertisements published in WME, or the actions of the parties�involved.

This publication is for informational purposes only.

� Copyright 2000-2002 John Payne All rights reserved. Web Marketing Ezine may only be redistributed in its unedited form. You are welcome to forward it to as many people as you�like, with our thanks. Written permission must be obtained to reprint or quote original material published in Web Marketing Ezine.

�������������� Web Marketing Ezine is published by John Payne�

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